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INFORMATION FOR NEW CONSTABLES  
AND DEPUTY CONSTABLES 

 

The Constables’ Education and Training Board (“Board”) of the Pennsylvania Commission on 
Crime and Delinquency (“PCCD”) has prepared this guide to provide newly elected or appointed 
constables and deputy constables with a summary of the training and certification programs and 
requirements established under the provisions of Act 2009-49. In addition, as a courtesy to the State 
Ethics Commission, this guide also contains a brief description of the financial disclosure 
responsibilities of constables and deputy constables as public officials (see page 15). 

For more information, please visit PCCD’s website at www.pccd.pa.gov or telephone the PCCD 
at 717-265-8551, 717-265-8552 or 717-265-8554. 
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REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION 

Act 1994-44, the Constables’ Education and Training Act established the Constables’ Education 
and Training Board (Board), to train and certify Pennsylvania Constables and Deputy 
Constables. In October 2009, Act 1994-44 was amended by Act 2009-49 and is known as Title 
44 Pa.C.S. Act 49, which outlines the training and certification processes of the Board. 

The Board operates with the oversight and staff support of the PCCD. The Constables’ Education 
and Training Program is continuously being improved and modified to keep step with the 
changing constables’ needs and their role in the criminal justice system. The training is provided 
by various regional contractors. PCCD’s Bureau of Training Services supervises and coordinates 
these activities, which ensures proper curriculum development and delivery, as well as timely and 
accurate constable certification and recertification. 

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS: 

Training programs administered by the Board include basic training, which is at the core of initial 
certification of constables, and annual continuing education, which provides for the re-certification 
of constables. Training and certification is accessible only to individuals who hold the office of 
constable or deputy constable. Attendance and successful completion of these programs are required 
for a constable to be certified to perform and to be paid for performing judicial duties. 

Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(a). Certification. provides that: 

“No constable or deputy constable shall perform any judicial duties nor demand or receive 
any fee, surcharge or mileage provided by this subchapter unless he has been certified under 
this subchapter.” 

Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(b). Liability insurance. also requires that: 

“Every constable and deputy constable must file with the county clerk of courts proof that 
he has, currently in force, a policy of professional liability insurance covering each 
individual in the performance of his judicial duties with a minimum coverage of $250,000 
per incident and a minimum aggregate of $500,000 per year.” 

Please check with your county to determine if there may be a local county rule that requires 
that a Constable carry additional financial liability insurance coverage. 

Title 49 Pa.C.S.A. §7142(c). Loss of certification. further states: 

“Any constable or deputy constable who fails, neglects or refuses to maintain a current 
insurance policy as required by subsection (b) or to file proof thereof with the clerk of 
courts shall cease automatically to be certified to perform judicial duties upon the 
expiration of the policy of which proof has been filed with the clerk of courts.” 
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REGISTERING WITH THE PROGRAM 

Registration is the first step in obtaining certification and allows constables to receive training 
bulletins, training schedules, and other PCCD communications regarding training and 
certification. 

To register with the Program, you must register as a new Keystone Login User.  To complete the 
First Time User Registration go to:  https://portal.pccd.pa.gov/PortalLogin/Login/CCETS.  The 
submission of this registration information will create a user account with the Constables’ 
Certification, Education and Training System (CCETS).  All newly elected or appointed constables 
and deputy constables must be registered CCETS users in order to be enrolled into training courses 
and access future online training courses. 

Registrants will be asked to provide the following information: name, mailing address, email 
address, telephone number, social security number, date of birth, term of office dates; and 
appointing constable information for deputy constables. To complete the registration process, a 
constable or deputy constable must submit an election certificate, or an appointment order signed 
by the President Judge or designee of the county Court of Common Pleas.  

Please be advised that constables and deputy constables are not employed by the PCCD, the Board 
or the Training Program, per Supreme Court Decision, In Re: Act 147 of 1990, which ruled that 
constables and deputy constables are “independent contractors for the minor judiciary”. the PCCD, 
the Board nor Program Staff will NOT sign off as an employing agency for a constable or deputy 
constable. 

CONSTABLES’ CERTIFICATION, EDUCATION AND  

TRAINING SYSTEM (CCETS) 

All users must register in CCETS prior to a user account being assigned. Program Staff have 
provided a “walk through” of the registration process. Please go to the PCCD website at 
www.pccd.pa.gov, click on the “Training” link and then the “Constables’ Education and Training 
Board” link, this will take you to the full constable training webpage. The link to register is on the 
right side of the page for: “Register/Login to CCETS”. 

Please reference the following screen shots on how to register as a new user for CCETS. 

 

https://portal.pccd.pa.gov/PortalLogin/Login/CCETS
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/
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INTENT OF CONSTABLES’ EDUCATION AND TRAINING PROGRAM 

The Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency (PCCD)/Constables’ Education and 
Training Board (CETB) are statutorily authorized to provide training and certification to constables 
and deputy constables to perform work for the judicial system. The PCCD/CETB does not train 
constables and deputy constables to perform work unrelated to judiciary assigned duties. The 
certification provided by the PCCD/CETB does not support coverage to any constable performing 
work outside of the judiciary, such as private security work. This applies to both the basic 
certification and the firearms certification. 

The true intent of the CETB is outlined below: 

Title 44, Chapter 71, Subchapter E, §7142(a) states: “Certification.—After the establishment, 
implementation and administration of the Constables’ Education and Training Program created 
under sections 7144 (relating to program established) and 7145 (relating to program contents), no 
constable or deputy constable shall perform any judicial duties nor demand or receive any fee, 
surcharge or mileage provided by this subchapter unless he has been certified under this 
subchapter. 

Title 44, Chapter 71, Subchapter E, §7142(f) states: “Conduct.—While a constable or deputy 
constable is performing duties other than judicial duties, regardless of whether or not he is certified 
under this subchapter, he shall not in any manner hold himself out to be active as an agent, 
employee or representative of any court, magisterial district judge or judge.” 

TRAINING 

Currently, the Constables’ Education and Training Program mandated by Act 2009-49 provides 
four types of training: 80-Hour Basic Training; 40-Hour Basic Firearms Training; 20-Hour 
Continuing Education Training; and 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Two regional 
training delivery contractors offer the training from January through November of each year at 
various locations throughout the state. Class enrollment is required prior to attending any constable 
training class. 

The Constables’ Training Schedule lists contact information for the two regional training delivery 
contractors. Although it is suggested that an individual attend training in his or her “home” region, 
a constable or deputy constable may attend training offered anywhere in the state. Training is on a 
first-come, first-served basis. Class space is limited due to the availability of training facilities, and 
to provide a proper training environment.  

A constable or deputy constable must successfully complete the 80-Hour Basic Training Course 
and obtain professional liability insurance in order to become certified.  The professional liability 
insurance must be filed with your county Clerk of Courts Office and their offices will forward to 
the Program.  The Program can only accept the insurance information from your county Clerk of 
Courts Office.   

The professional liability insurance is only required to become certified with the Program and is 
not required to hold office.  Constables are required to file a bond with the county to hold office 
(Title 44§ 7114 (c)), talk to your County Board of Elections. Liability Insurance is not a 
requirement to be enrolled into the 80-hour Basic Training Courses.   



10 
 

There are three elements that need to be in place for a constable to become certified to perform 
work for the judicial system: 
 

1) A current term of office-The Program does require a copy of the election 
certificate and/or appointment order signed by the President Judge or designee; 

2) The successful completion of the 80-hour Basic Training Course; and 

3) The filing of the current professional liability insurance with your county Clerk of 
Courts Office (the Program will only accept the insurance information from your 
county Clerk of Courts Office, not the constable or insurance company). 

When these three elements are in place with the Program, the constable or deputy constable will 
be issued a Certification Number and Id Card at that time.  They will also appear in the 
Magisterial District Judges System (MDJS) so that work can be assigned to the constable or 
deputy constable.  The intent of the Program’s training and certification is to perform work for 
the judicial system only, if you are not performing work by order of a court, the training and 
certification does not apply. 
 
You do not need to be certified to perform election day duties, contact your County Board of 
Elections, on local rules for election day duties. 
 
A certification number and an ID card will be issued with your base certification after successful 
completion of 80-Hour Basic Training Course. 

A constable or deputy constable must successfully complete the 40-Hour Basic Firearms Training 
to obtain initial certification to carry a firearm in the performance of judicial duties. Firearm 
training is optional, but certain duties performed for the judicial system will require the Act 49 
firearms certification, see Supreme Court Rules for Constables dated May 2013. Following initial 
firearms certification, successful completion of the 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course 
every year is required to maintain firearms certification. 

All Basic Training and Basic Firearms Training Course enrollments are handled by Program Staff.   

80-HOUR BASIC TRAINING: 

All newly elected constables or appointed deputy constables who are seeking certification to 
perform work for the judicial system, under Act 49-2009 §7142(a), must attend and successfully 
complete basic training to perform judicial duties and be paid by the courts. Constables or 
appointed deputy constables must be registered with the Program. To register with the Program, 
you must register as a new Keystone Login User.  To complete the First Time User Registration 
go to:  https://portal.pccd.pa.gov/PortalLogin/Login/CCETS.   
 
At the February 14, 2019 Constables Education and Training Board (Board) Meeting, the Board 
voted that any constable or deputy constable who are seeking certification to perform work for 
the judicial system must pay for the expense of the basic training course and the basic firearms 
training course starting January 1, 2020. The cost of a basic training course and basic firearms 
training course will be determined by the Board periodically. The current cost of basic training is 
$1,125.00 and the current cost of basic firearms is $1,485.00. These payment(s) must be received 

https://portal.pccd.pa.gov/PortalLogin/Login/CCETS
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by Program Staff prior to enrollment into these classes. The Program does not accept credit or 
debit card payments, partial payments or payment plans for this training related cost. 

Refer to Title 37 Law, Chapter 431, for Regulations relating to the certification of constables and 
deputy constables. To successfully complete basic training, an individual must attend and participate 
in all training as scheduled, achieve a passing score of at least 70% on each written examination 
administered during the course, and successfully demonstrate practical skills during each 
proficiency examination. There are 14 subjects covered in basic training. Constables and deputy 
constables are tested on each of the 14 subjects. An individual who receives less than 70% on any 
written exam will have only one opportunity to re-test in that subject. If an individual fails the re-test, 
that individual has failed the basic training course and will not be certified by the Board. 

Basic training will consist of instruction in the following subjects: role of the constable in the justice 
system, professional development, civil law and process, criminal law and process, use of force, 
mechanics of arrest, defensive tactics, prisoner transport and custody, court security, crisis 
intervention, management of aggressive behavior (MOAB), expandable baton (MEB), and 
oleoresin capsicum (OCAT). 

20-HOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION TRAINING: 

Constables and deputy constables are required to attend and successfully complete continuing 
education every year to renew their certifications for the following calendar year. For example, 
successful completion of the 20-Hour Continuing Education Course, which includes an 8-Hour 
Classroom Subject and 12-Hours of Online Subject curriculum in the current year will serve as the 
basis for the renewal of a constable’s certification for the next year. To successfully complete 
continuing education, an individual must attend and participate in all training as scheduled, achieve 
a passing score of at least 70% on each written examination administered during the course, and 
successfully demonstrate practical skills during each proficiency examination. Based upon 
successful completion of continuing education by November of each year, constables and deputy 
constables will be issued new certification cards in December, which will indicate certification for 
the following year. 

FIREARMS TRAINING: 

Firearms training is optional, in that constables are not required to carry a firearm in the 
performance of their judicial duties. That choice is left to the discretion of each constable or deputy 
constable. However, the Pennsylvania Unified Judicial System, Constable Policies, Procedures and 
Standards of Conduct dated May 2013, states under IV. Security and Transports, subsection B. 
Weapons. “No constable shall carry a firearm in the performance of judicial duties unless he or she 
has received firearm certification pursuant to 44 Pa.C.S.A. §7144 and complied with all regulations 
established by the Constables’ Education and Training Board.” 

Act 49 mandates firearms training and certification for any constable or deputy constable who 
intends to carry a firearm during the performance of his or her constable duties. Board Regulation 
states that constables and deputy constables must be at least twenty-one years of age before 
attending firearms training. 

A constable or deputy constable must successfully complete basic firearms training one time to 
obtain initial certification to carry a firearm in the performance of constable duties. Following 



12 
 

initial firearms certification, successful completion of annual firearms training every year is 
required to maintain firearms certification. 

40-HOUR BASIC FIREARMS: 
 
At the February 14, 2019 Constables Education and Training Board (Board) Meeting, the Board 
voted a constable or deputy constable who is elected or appointed must pay for the expense of the 
basic training course and the basic firearms training course starting January 1, 2020.  The cost of 
a basic training course and basic firearms training course will be determined by the Board 
periodically. The current cost of basic training is $1,125.00 and the current cost of basic firearms 
is $1,485.00. These payment(s) must be received by Program Staff prior to enrollment into these 
classes. The Program does not accept credit or debit card payments, partial payments or payment 
plans for this training related cost. 

The Basic Firearms Training has been designed to provide essential grounding in acceptable law 
enforcement techniques for any constable who is not certified to carry a firearm by the PCCD. It 
consists of 40 hours of basic firearms training and qualification. While the training is not 
mandatory, it is available to any constable who has completed the 80-Hour Basic Training course, 
has acquired a certification number, and is at least twenty-one years of age. 

The 40-Hour Basic Firearms Training Course consists of a series of lectures, laboratory activities, 
and practical exercises that provide a basic understanding of the safe manipulation of a revolver or 
semi-automatic pistol. It starts with the presumption that the participant has little or no formal 
training. The course stresses safe handling techniques, proper cleaning, correct weapons handling 
skills, and marksmanship. 

The constable will be exposed to firing in reduced light and to interactive judgmental shooting 
scenarios. Successful course completion will require passing all practical exercises and written 
tests, and demonstrating proficient, safe weapons handling skills. The constable qualification 
course (CQC) is divided into two stages. A shooter must qualify on each phase with a score of at 
least a 75%. The shooter who fails to pass one of the phases will be permitted to repeat the phase 
on which he or she did not meet the 75% threshold. Scoring will only take place at the end of each 
phase and there will be no remedial training if a constable fails a phase of the CQC. This course 
includes a written exam which includes a satisfactory course completion score of 75%. 

5-HOUR ANNUAL FIREARMS QUALIFICATION COURSE: 

At the July 9, 2018 Constables Education and Training Board (Board) meeting, the Board voted to 
eliminate the 20-Hour Annual and Advanced Firearms Training Courses and replace it with a 4-
Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Constables will sign up for a 4-Hour Annual Firearms 
Qualification Course through the Constables Certification, Education and Training System 
(CCETS), as they would for any other training. 

The current 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course will consist of a written test, 
administrative procedures, safety brief and firing the Constable Qualification Course (CQC) of fire. 
There will be no practice of the CQC. A Student Firearms Study Guide will be available in 
CCETS; constables must review and study this Guide prior to attending a 5-Hour Annual Firearms 
Qualification Course. The written test will be on the material in the Student Firearms Study Guide 
at the start of the 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Satisfactory course completion 
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requires a passing score (75%) on the written examination. In addition, the constable must achieve 
a qualification standard of 75% (45 points) or better on each phase of the CQC using their duty 
weapon. 

Constables are strongly encouraged to practice the CQC, for time, prior to signing up for a 5-
Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. The CQC can be found on the PCCD website at: 
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Cons
tabl  e%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf.  

Scoring will only take place at the end of each Phase. Constables are strongly encouraged to 
practice prior to attending a 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. Constables should 
assess their strengths and weaknesses when shooting the CQC and focus their practice on what 
sections of the CQC they need to improve upon. Constables are encouraged to practice together 
and see if their local association will conduct a range day to practice the CQC or find a local 
firearms instructor for shooting assistance. 

FIREARMS FAILURES: 

At the August 9, 2018 Board meeting, the Board approved the attached Policy regarding firearms 
failures during the CQC. The policy states: 

2. Firearms qualification. 

a. A constable who fails either phase of the qualification course of fire on their first attempt, will 
not be provided any remediation training by the firearms instructors. 

b. The firearms certification of a constable who fails to attain a passing score in a retest of a written 
examination or practical skill proficiency examination shall cease immediately on the date of the 
failure. The constable will not be firearms certified until that constable attends a second firearms 
qualification course in its entirety and completes it successfully to obtain a firearms qualification. 
The constable shall bear financial responsibility for the second firearms qualification course. 

This Policy change states that the firearms certification would end the day of the firearms failure. 
A constable will not be firearms certified until they pay to attend a second 4-Hour Annual Firearms 
Qualification Course and successfully complete the second Course. 

To recap, there will be no remedial training if a constable fails a Phase of the CQC. Constables 
will be allowed a second attempt at passing the failed Phase.  Also, constables should bring 120 
rounds of qualification ammunition, in case of failure. No training ammunition will be provided at 
the 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. If a constable fails the 5-Hour Annual Firearms 
Qualification Course after two attempts, the constable will have failed the Course and will have to 
pay prior to enrolling in another 5-Hour Annual Firearms Qualification Course. 
  

http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constable%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constable%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/training/Documents/Constable%20Education%20and%20Training/Constable%20Forms/Constables'%20Qualification%20Course%20of%20Fire.pdf
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TRAINING QUALIFICATION WITH AN ADDITIONAL WEAPON 

Qualification with two weapons is permitted, subject to time constraints and range conditions.  The 
constable must provide enough ammunition for that additional weapon. Constables must qualify 
with Weapon 1 before they will be permitted to attempt to qualify with Weapon 2. 

If a constable fails to achieve the required score during a Weapon 1 qualification attempt and re-
shoots the portion of the course failed but still fails to qualify with Weapon 1, that constable will 
not be permitted to attempt qualification with Weapon 2. 

WEAPON-MOUNTED LIGHTS or LASERS: 

There are no restrictions on weapon-mounted lights or lasers unless the light or laser becomes a 
distraction to the user, impedes their ability to clear a malfunction, or creates a safety issue at which 
time an instructor can have the constable remove or stop using the device on the weapon. 

FITNESS AND FIREARM REMINDERS: 

It is important to be fit on the firearms range, both physically and mentally. If a constable is feeling 
under the weather due to a cold/flu or some other medical condition, and has an upcoming firearms 
training class scheduled, they may want to reschedule to a class later in the year. If a Constable 
attempts any part of the CQC and fails to qualify, and then discloses a medical issue, they will not be 
excused for the failure. Constables who currently wear glasses or contacts should have their eyes 
checked before attending an annual firearms qualification course. This will help to alleviate any 
potential qualification or firearms safety issues that may arise on the range due to these conditions. 

ATTENDANCE POLICIES 

Please see the attendance policies outlined in Board Regulation below. All calls should be made 
“to the director of the school or a designee” directly. 

§431.25(a), §431.35(a) and §431.47(a). Attendance policies. 

States in part . . . A notification shall be deemed timely if it is delivered to the director of the school 
or a designee no later than 7 calendars prior to the start of classes. 

Constables and deputy constables should not call or inform the class instructors as to the 
non-attendance of themselves or others. 

All attendance calls should be made directly “to the director of the school or a designee”. 

If you have an emergency prior to, or on any of the scheduled class dates, contact the training 
delivery contractor as soon as possible. 

PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT PROGRAM STAFF TO ENROLL, WITHDRAW OR 
TRANSFER TRAINING CLASSES.  
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FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS OF THE STATE ETHICS 
COMMISSION 

FINANCIAL INTEREST STATEMENTS: WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW  

Each year, thousands of public officials and public employees across Pennsylvania are 
confronted with a task that is almost as enjoyable as filing tax returns - filing their yearly 
Statements of Financial Interests. The filing of a Statement of Financial Interests may not be 
enjoyable, it is a yearly obligation for those public officials and public employees who meet the 
criteria established by the Public Official and Employee Ethics Act, commonly referred to as the 
Ethics Act, including constables, and deputy constables. In addition to mandating the filing of the 
forms, the Ethics Act also designates the State Ethics Commission as the agency responsible for 
the administration of the process. Because of that requirement, the State Ethics Commission, each 
year, handles numerous questions about how to complete the forms. The following article is 
offered by the State Ethics Commission to address frequently encountered questions and 
problems. Constables and deputy constables have been required to file Statements of Financial 
Interests since 1993 with the issuance of Opinion 92-008 by the State Ethics Commission. As 
required by the Ethics Act, all elected, and most appointed public officials must file a Statement 
of Financial Interests by May 1 of each year. The same holds true for constables/deputy 
constables. Constables are required by law to file their Statements of Financial Interests directly 
with the State Ethics Commission. Statement of Financial Interests forms are available from the 
State Ethics Commission at www.ethics.pa.gov, the PCCD at www.pccd.pa.gov, County Boards 
of Elections and managers of townships and boroughs throughout the Commonwealth.  

 

WHO IS REQUIRED TO FILE A FINANCIAL INTEREST STATEMENT? 
                            

All elected and most appointed public officials, including constables and deputy constables, are 
required to file an annual Statement of Financial Interests. In addition, many public employees 
are also subject to the annual Statement of Financial Interests filing requirement. Constables and 
deputy constables are required to file Statements of Financial Interests as well even if they do not 
work as a constable and even if they do not earn money as a constable. Further, constables and 
deputy constables must file even if they are not certified through required class work to perform 
the role of constable/deputy constable. The key standard is whether the constable/deputy 
constable has taken the oath of office. If so, then the constable/deputy constable must file a 
Statement of Financial Interests. These rules apply whether the constable/deputy constable is 
elected or appointed to fill a vacancy.         

Second, other public employees who are not elected, but meet the criteria set forth in the Ethics 
Act, also must file a Statement of Financial Interests. The entire criteria are too lengthy to be 
repeated herein, but may be found in the language of the Ethics Act itself, as well as the 
accompanying regulations, which are listed at 51 Pa. Code, at Sections 11, 15, 17 and 19. In 
general, though, some of the considerations that will determine whether someone is required to 
file include whether the person has supervisory authority over other employees, the scope of 
decision making authority of the person, the ability to expend funds on a discretionary basis, and 

http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
http://www.pccd.pa.gov/
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responsibility for carrying out laws or regulations. Also, part-time and full-time municipal 
solicitors are required to file a Statement of Financial Interests.                                                  

Candidates or nominees for office must file a Statement of Financial Interests as well. Candidates 
for the position of constable must file a Statement of Financial Interests on or before the last day 
for filing a petition to appear on the ballot for election. Candidates who do not file may be 
disqualified from appearing on the election ballot. Regarding nominees, they must file a 
Statement of Financial Interests at least ten days before their nomination is scheduled to be 
reviewed for approval or rejection.         

The public is thus given access to the financial interest information of its public servants, who are 
in positions of decision-making authority. In this way, the needs of the public are assured that 
financial interests of its public officials do not conflict with their public duties is fulfilled.                    

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL 
INTERESTS FILING REQUIREMENTS                                                                                                

With these suggestions in mind, a person may wonder what happens if they either fail to file a 
Statement of Financial Interests form or file a deficient Statement of Financial Interests form for 
a particular year. 

Each year, the State Ethics Commission conducts numerous random audits of the Statement of 
Financial Interests on file at the state, county and local levels. These audits often reveal either 
forms not being filed by individuals who are required to file, or deficient forms. Since the forms 
are required to be available to the public, members of communities across the Commonwealth 
often contact the Commission with what they believe are problems with the Statement of 
Financial Interests form filed by their government officials. This information enables the 
Commission to monitor whether each governmental body is following the law regarding the 
Statement of Financial Interests filing requirements. 

Once the Commission determines that there was a non-filing or a deficient filing, an enforcement 
process begins. Public officials, including constables who are delinquent or deficient in their 
filings, are given the opportunity by the Ethics Commission to t either file or amend the forms as 
directed. This process involves filing a Statement of Financial Interests form and addressing 
problem areas that may have been identified. If the individual complies with the notices of non-
compliance and files a complete and accurate Statement of Financial Interests, no further action 
is taken. 

If the constable/public official refuses to comply with the filing provisions of the law, or files 
another deficient form, a formal legal process then begins. Individuals are then subject to a 
process that can involve an order from the Ethics Commission imposing a fine and directing them 
to comply with their Statement of Financial Interests requirements, and those orders can be 
enforced in the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania. Failure to comply with those orders can 
lead to fines, contempt of court citations, and even imprisonment. Each year, across 
Pennsylvania, government officials spend additional time, effort and expense due to their failure 
to properly comply with the filing of the Statement of Financial Interests form. 

The Ethics Commission wants to avoid this process whenever possible. It is much preferable to 
have public officials correctly follow the process of filing the forms, rather than resorting to a 
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legal process to compel filings. It is the State Ethics Commission’s belief that the more 
information that is made available about the process, the easier it will be to comply with, which is 
to everyone’s benefit. 

CONCLUSION 

The Statement of Financial Interests process is designed to allow the public to be informed about 
the financial interests of its government officials. In this way, citizens can be aware if their 
government officials have any outside interests that may impact upon their decision-making. That 
kind of information helps all of us achieve good government. 

There are two ways to file the legally mandated Statement of Financial Interests. First, the State 
Ethics Commission has devised paper forms that have been made more user-friendly, so those 
officials that are required to file them can do so as easily as possible. In addition to the paper 
form, the State Ethics Commission also has available an online form which can be found at 
www.ethics.pa.gov. Click on the link entitled “Online Filing” and following the instructions. An 

email confirmation with a PDF copy of your filing is also provided upon completion. To make 
that process as efficient as possible, the State Ethics Commission wants to make as much 
information available as it can. We encourage questions or comments about this process, to be 
directed to the Commission at their toll-free telephone number, (800) 932-0936, or their outside 
number, (717) 783-1610, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, or by e-mail 
at ethics@pa.gov. In addition, the State Ethics Commission has a website, which can be found at 
www.ethics.pa.gov. This website has substantial information regarding the workings of the State 
Ethics Commission, as well as updates in the Ethics Law, and a complete listing of the law and 
regulations of the State Ethics Commission. We feel this is an excellent source of information 
and we encourage individuals to take advantage of it. 

The State Ethics Commission pledges to make the Statement of Financial Interests process as 
efficient and effective as possible, so that government officials can more easily get to the 
business of governing. We look forward to working with constables and other officials from 
across Pennsylvania to achieve this goal. 

http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
mailto:ethics@pa.gov
http://www.ethics.pa.gov/
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PA CONSTABLES’ CLASSROOM CODE OF CONDUCT 

All newly elected or appointed constables and deputy constables must sign off on the PA 
Constables’ Classroom Code of Conduct prior to enrolling into any constable training classes.  

 

PA Constables’ Training Code of Conduct 

 

Constables’ Training Code of Conduct:  

I. Testing 

A. Mandatory tests and proficiency examinations will be given for each major section of the 
curriculum. To complete the course and receive certification or recertification, a trainee must pass 
all mandatory tests and proficiency examinations. 

B. Mandatory tests and proficiency examinations will be scheduled and announced to the 
class in advance. 

C. All mandatory test and proficiency examination material must be returned to the 
instructor supervising each test at the end of the examination period. 

D. It is the responsibility of each individual user to secure and protect their User ID and 
password for any computer systems utilized by the Program. Sharing of or providing the User ID 
and password, allowing someone else to take your online training or mandatory tests and 
proficiency examinations, or sharing or receiving mandatory test and proficiency examination 
questions/answers will be considered cheating. 

E. Cheating on examinations will be grounds for discipline by the training provider. 
Cheating includes, but is not limited to, copying from another person's examination, utilizing 
references or notes without the instructor or proctor’s approval, theft of test and/or examination 
materials, removal of test and/or examination materials from the classroom, using test and/or 
examination materials stolen by another or providing answers to, receiving answers from, or 
giving assistance to another person during any phase of a testing and/or examination session. 

II. Attendance 

A. A constable or deputy constable who registers for the Basic Training, Continuing 
Education or Firearms Qualification Course may withdraw from the course without penalty upon 
timely notification to the director of the school conducting said course. A notification shall be 
deemed timely if it is delivered to the director of the school or his or her designee no later than 
seven calendar days prior to the start of the course. The school may assess a failing grade for all 
or part of the Basic Training, Continuing Education or Firearms Qualification Course if the 
constable or deputy constable fails to provide timely notification or to show good cause. 
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B. A constable or deputy constable must attend and complete all hours of the training course 
to receive credit for the course. Constables and deputy constables are required to be on time for 
all training courses and to remain until the completion of the training as determined by the 
instructor. 

III. Unprofessional Conduct: 

A. Unprofessional conduct is defined as conduct that reflects poorly upon the image of the 
Constables’ Education and Training Board (Board) and the Constables of the Commonwealth. 

B. Unprofessional conduct is grounds for sanction and the imposition of appropriate 
disciplinary action. 

C. Examples of unprofessional conduct include, but are not limited to: disruptive talking in 
the classroom; disrespect to instructors; sleeping, eating, or smoking in class; disrupting other 
activities occurring on the training site; false fire alarm; vandalism; illegal parking; lying to 
training delivery or Board staff or any other person; refusal to cooperate with staff investigations; 
and other criminal offenses committed at the training site. Cell phone usage during training 
classes would be deemed disruptive and disrespectful to the instructors and other students. 
Utilizing any other electronic device could also be disruptive and disrespectful to the classroom 
environment. 

D. Attendance at training sessions while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs is 
prohibited and is grounds for immediate dismissal from training. Immediate dismissal from a 
training class while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs will constitute a class failure 
and the constable or deputy constable shall bear financial responsibility for the cost of attending 
an additional training course. 

E. Harassment or discrimination against an individual or group by reason of race, color, 
familial status, religious creed, ancestry, age, sex, national origin, handicap or disability will not 
be tolerated and is grounds for dismissal from the course. 

1. Physical Harassment/Abuse: This includes, but is not limited to, unwanted physical contact to 
include touching, fondling, patting, pinching, kissing and all legal classifications of assault. 

2. Verbal Harassment/Abuse: This includes, but is not limited to, name calling, innuendoes, 
insults, threats, requests or demands for sexual favors, propositions, questions about a person's 
sexual practices, lewd comments, "wolf whistles," racial, religious, ethnic, or explicit sexual 
jokes.  
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3. Visual Harassment/Abuse: This includes, but is not limited to, obscene, explicit or 
insulting gestures, leering or displays, pictures, objects, materials or crude cartoons. 

F. Sexual Harassment: Includes, but is not limited to, unwanted sexual advances, requests 
for sexual favors and other verbal or physical conduct such as that described above when it is of a 
sexual nature and when such conduct has the purpose or effect of unreasonably interfering with 
an individual's work performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive working 
environment. 

G. All trainees are expected to respect the rights of their fellow classmates. 

IV. Disciplinary Action 

A. Violations of this Code of Conduct may subject a trainee to disciplinary action. 

B. Disciplinary action may include but is not limited to: 

1. An oral reprimand; 

2. A written warning; 

3. Restitution for damages; 

4. Dismissal from the training delivery provider for the course of instruction; 

5. Permanent bar from the training delivery provider’s training sites. 

C. Imposition of disciplinary action by a training delivery provider’s director does not waive 
the training delivery provider's or the Board's right to impose additional or more severe 
disciplinary action against a trainee when the circumstances require such action. Imposition of 
disciplinary action by a training delivery provider’s director also does not waive the training 
delivery provider’s or the Board’s right to impose no or less severe disciplinary action against a 
trainee. 

D. An Act 49 Constable Training Grievance Form can be used by a constable to file a formal 
grievance with the Board for any disciplinary action taken against a constable. A copy of this 
Grievance Form can be found on the PCCD website or by writing to PCCD Bureau of Training 
Services, PO Box 1167, Harrisburg PA 17108-1167
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Statement of Understanding 

I,  __________________________ , have read and understand the PA Constables’ Training Code
of Conduct and agree to abide by its provisions. Refusal to sign off on this PA Constables’ Training 
Code of Conduct will prohibit the constable or deputy constable from attending Act 49 Constable 
Training. 

Print Name 

Signature Date 

ADOPTED BY CETB FEBRUARY 14, 2019 
ADOPTED BY PCCD SEPTEMBER 11, 2019 


